Teaching & Learning

Best Undergraduate Science Studies Senior Thesis

Duke’s Center for Interdisciplinary Studies in Science and Cultural Theory sponsors an annual “Best Undergraduate Science Studies Senior Thesis” prize. Students recognized with this honor include:

All undergraduate theses completed between May 1, 2017 and May 1, 2018, in all departments and programs, and which explore a science or sciences from an historical, philosophical, sociological, or literary critical perspective, are eligible for this prize. The prize for the winning thesis is $500, and the thesis itself will be posted in its entirety as a .pdf on the CISSCT website (http://cissct.duke.edu/teaching-learning). A student may submit his or her senior thesis for consideration, or faculty supervising a science-studies senior thesis may nominate his or her student’s senior thesis for consideration by emailing Carolin Benack (carolin.benack@duke.edu). In either case, a submission for this prize should be made directly by the student him- or herself. The entire thesis should be emailed as a .pdf to Carolin Benack (carolin.benack@duke.edu) by no later than May 1, 2018. The submissions will be judged by the CISSCT undergraduate prize committee, and the prize winner will be announced on May 8, 2018.

Anthropocene Campus: The Technosphere Issue

The CISSCT co-sponsored Anthropocene Campus: The Technosphere Issue held April 14-22, 2016. The Anthropocene Curriculum is a trans-disciplinary collaboration initiated by Haus der Kulturen der Welt and the Max Planck Institute for the History of Science around forty scholars from around he world, working in the natural, environmental, and social sciences, as well as the humanities, arts, and architecture. Together with one hundred selected internal researchers from different fields as well as actors from outside of academia this program was put into teaching practice at the 2016 seminars.